|Home | Serving Schedule | Calendar | Lectionary | Daily Office | Christian Education | History | | Contact Us|
|Trinity Episcopal Church|
Episcopalians have worshipped in Fillmore from its founding as a town in 1888, but the congregation was initially served by priests from Ventura. Services were held first in members' homes, then local businesses, and eventually in the present building, where we continue to meet today.
The church building was a gift to the Fillmore congregation from the family of Senator Thomas Bard in the early 1930's. Built in 1901, it was transported piece by piece from its original site in Port Hueneme and reassembled on its current site in 1933. This unique redwood building has been named a Ventura County Historical Society Landmark. For decades, locals affectionately have referred to it as "The Little Chocolate Church."
Trinity Episcopal Church has been a parish of the Diocese of Los Angeles for sixty years. Some significant dates in its history are shown below.
1890 - 1900
Mr. Ernest T. Brevetor is the first known Episcopalian baptized in Fillmore by the first recorded clergyman, the Rev. W. H. Marriot, from St. Paul’s, Santa Paula.
1913 - 1933
Services were held, at first without great regularity, but eventually on a monthly basis. Priests came from Santa Paula and celebrated in homes, the State Bank, and even in the lobby of the Fillmore Theatre.
Mary Bard donated the redwood church as a gift to the community. Mr. and Mrs. Stevens donated the lot and the church was consecrated.
Trinity Mission was established, November 1.
Trinity Episcopal Church became a parish within the Diocese of Los Angeles.
Our Sunday school was built as a memorial to J. Russell Flint
TRINITY EPISCOPAL CHURCH
P.O. Box 306, 600 Saratoga St., Fillmore, CA 93016
|©2022 Trinity Church|